Skip to main content


Showing posts from February, 2021

Brief Multidimensional Measure of Religiousness/Spirituality (BMMRS)

  Scale name Brief Multidimensional Measure of Religiousness/Spirituality (BMMRS) The BMMRS  contains 38 items organized in several groups or subscales and is available from Fetzer (1999). Subscales Here is a list of the subscales. The subscale names are in bold italics. I included the number of items and a sample item for each subscale.   Daily Spiritual Experiences is a six-item measure. Each item is rated on a scale from many times a day (1) to never or almost never (6). A sample item is “I feel God’s presence.” Private Religious Practices is a four-item measure. Each item is rated on a 6-point scale from more than once a day (1) to once a month (6). A sample item is “How often do you pray privately in places other than at church?” Religious and Spiritual Coping is a seven-item measure. Items are rated on a 4-point scale from a great deal (1) to not at all (4). A sample item is “I think about how my life is part of a larger spiritual force.” Religious Support is

Religious Commitment Inventory—10 (RCI—10)

  Scale Name:    Religious Commitment Inventory—10 (RCI—10) The RCI—10, developed by Everett L. Worthington, Jr. and his colleagues, uses 10 items rated on a 5-point scale to measure religious commitment (Worthington et al., 2003).  Each item is rated from not at all true of me (1) to totally true of me (5).  A sample item is “I often read books and magazines about my faith.” Link to   List of Tests SCOPES domain = Self/spirituality Reference Worthington, E.L., Jr., Wade, N.G., Hight, T.L., Ripley, J.S., McCullough, M.E., Berry, J.W. et al. (2003). The Religious Commitment Inventory—10: development, refinement, and validation of a brief scale for research and counseling. Journal of Counseling and Psychology, 50 , 84-96.

Anger Scales

  The Anger Scales include 37 items that assess anger in detail—including a look at antecedents to anger and ways anger is expressed.  The scale was developed by Alonso-Arbiol and colleagues (2011). The items are rated from not at all typical (1) to very typical (4).  Link to   List of Tests SCOPES domain = Emotion Reference Alonso-Arbiol, Itziar, van de Vijver, Fons J. R., Fernandez, Itziar, Paez, Dario, Campos, Miryam, & Carrera, Pilar. (2011). Implicit theories about interrelations of anger components in 25 countries. Emotion, 11 , 1-11. doi: 10.1037/a0020295 Link to the Article on ResearchGate image note Created by Geoffrey Sutton and

Fear Inventory III

  Fear is a common emotion, and most agree it is a core feeling. Fear surveys are available for children and adults. Many of the fear surveys assess a fear of something such as animals, food, or pain.  The  Fear Inventory III (Taylor & Rachman, 1992) includes 66 items organized in seven subscales: Social Anxiety, Agoraphobic Fears, Fear of Bodily Injury, Death and Illness, Fear of Exposure to Sex/Aggressive Stimuli, Fear of Harmless Animals, Fear of Sadness, and Fear of Anxiety.  The items are rated on a 5-point scale from not at all (0) to very much (4). SCOPES domain = Emotion Permissions : Test content may be reproduced and used for non-commercial research and educational purposes without seeking written permission. Distribution must be controlled, meaning only to the participants engaged in the research or enrolled in the educational activity. Any other type of reproduction or distribution of test content is not authorized without written permission from the author and publi

Subjective Happiness Scale (SHS)

  Happiness may be the quintessential positive feeling state. We commonly wish others a happy birthday or anniversary.  The Subjective Happiness Scale is a short four-item survey developed by Sonja Lyubomirsky and Heidi Lepper (1999) and has been completed by thousands of respondents.  The items are rated on 7-point scales that use different words to describe the end points.  A sample item calls for ratings of less happy (1) to more happy (7): “Compared to most of my peers, I consider myself…” Permissions : " Permission is granted for all non-commercial use." Availability : You can get the scale from the  Website : SCOPES domain = Emotion Link to   List of Tests Scale Reference Lyubomirsky, S., & Lepper, H. (1999). A measure of subjective happiness: Preliminary reliability and construct validation. Social Indicators Research, 46 , 137-155. Creating Surveys on AMAZON    or   GOOGLE  Worldwide

Positive and Negative Affect Schedule (PANAS)

  A questionnaire widely used in research is known by its acronym PANAS , that is, the Positive and Negative Affect Schedule (Watson et al., 1988).  Subscales and examples There are 10 items to measure positive and negative affect. Examples of positive affect include enthusiastic, alert, and excited. Examples of negative affect include ashamed, guilty, and afraid. Internal consistency values were .86 to .90 for the positive affect subscale and .84 to .87 for the negative affect subscale (Watson et al., 1988). Validity data support the value of the PANAS for measuring affect. The PANAS measures the E (emotional) component of the SCOPES model of human functioning.